The New Percy grainger Companion

Image of Percy Grainger

Edited by Penelope Thwaites

In the thirty years since his Centenary in 1982 it has become even clearer that Percy Grainger [1882-1961] - composer, pianist and revolutionary - was a man born out of his time. Many of his ideas, both musical and social, sit far more easily in our contemporary world. Those thirty years have also seen a notable expansion of interest in Grainger's music. Innumerable recordings have been made, including the first complete Grainger recording survey by Chandos in its monumental Grainger Edition. The growth of the internet has made it possible, as never before, for Grainger's music to be heard widely.

The central theme of The New Percy Grainger Companion is to give information and help from established musicians for performing and listening to this life-celebrating repertoire. The Companion's fully detailed, up-to-date Catalogue of Works - the most complete of any existing catalogue - gives invaluable assistance. Authoritative contextual chapters in the Companion offer some surprising new background information, together with thoughtful evaluations which signal a new twenty-first century perspective in Grainger scholarship.

356 pages - Hardback - Price £45.00


  • 1: Grainger Timeline and Introduction
  • 2: Orchestral Music
  • 3: Music for Wind Band
  • 4: Grainger for Choirs
  • 5: Singing Grainger Solo
  • 6: At the Piano with Grainger
  • 7: Towards a Universal Language; Early Music, World Music
  • 8: Programming Grainger
  • 9: Putting Grainger into Print
  • 10: Grainger's Pianism on Disc
  • 11: Marvellous Melbourne 1880-1895
  • 12: The Family Background
  • 13: An Australian Composer?
  • 14: The Grainger Museum, Then, Now and in the Future
  • 15: The Pursuit of Nordic Music
  • 16: At Home in New York
  • 17: Grainger and his Contemporaries
  • 18: Reflection and Reminiscence
  • 19: The Spiritualising Influence of Music; Grainger's Philosophy of Life and Art
  • 20: Appendices
  • 21: Catalogue of Works